The Takers Movie?


In the beginning, a long, long time ago, I was contacted by some filmmakers who were interested in doing a movie version of The Takers.  Obviously, that didn’t happen, but that doesn’t mean I’ve given up on the idea.  A good friend of mine and I even attempted to adapt the book into a screenplay, but he ended up moving to New York (lucky duck), and I’ve been busy writing books 2-5. So things kind of stalled

It is back on my mind once again.  Many of you have asked me if there will ever be a The Takers movie, and my answer has been that it’s not up to me.  I’ve changed my mind about that.  I’ve decided to be more proactive about it and see how far I can take it.  I contacted a production company today to get an idea of budget for a short.  I explained what I thought was the best approach, and I’m sending them a copy of the book to see just how “proactive” I will have to be.  It will take money, which means I will most likely be getting into that crowdsourcing scene.  However, there is no sense in pursuing it if there’s not an audience for a The Takers Movie.  Incidentally, I would have to call it The Takers instead of Takers because there was a film about a bank heist with that title a few years ago.  So what do you think?  Is it worth pursuing?  Would there be an audience for a move based on my book The Takers?

Here’s a book trailer a company called Book Shorts did for the book.

7 Comments

  1. I think that there is a lot of potential in these books, after reading them, it was awe striking to me that I couldn’t find much else about these books on the internet. That being said, I think that The Takers could make a very good topic for a movie, and hopefully it would bring the well deserved fame to these books.

    -Greg

  2. I agree that this book series would make an excellent movie series.

  3. I eagerly await release of Banshee Worm King: Book Five of the Oz Chronicles. This whole Oz story apeals to a wide scope of ages/generations in a way that few stories can. I am not only excited about the prospect of a The Takers movie for its own good but also in possibly opening doors to screenplay adaptations for others such as Two Notch. Even your most devious characters have become friends of mine that deserve immortalization on screen as well as in print!

    • Thanks, Brent. It’s funny you bring Two Notch up. That is one of the few books I’ve written with actual people in mind. More for body type and on-screen personas. Believe it or not, I saw Zach Galifianakis when I got in Ike’s head. Abel was a combination of Javier Bardem and Clint Eastwood. Although, I saw Denzel Washington the other day, and I thought he would be an interesting choice for Abel. Hey, if you’re going to dream, you might as well pick Oscar winners.

  4. (Hmmm, I thought I posted this already… I’m cheating and reposting what I wrote on Facebook)

    Wow, I appreciate the response and support! The company I’ve contacted has done a few features and some excellent shorts based on YA novels. They have an awesome Hunger Games short that came out before the feature. My purpose for contacting them was to get an idea of budget. As I explained to them, I wouldn’t want to do an abridged version of the entire book. My idea is to do a short based on the first chapter. That gets us to Oz’s first run in with the Takers and Mrs. Chalmers’ unfortunate end. If it’s done well, it could be a cliff hanger that serves to whet people’s appetite. Bonus feature is that it would require only minimal SFX work. We shall see.

    • Takers will take some SFX, but it will be nothing compared to the Delon’s and their hair-do!
      I’ve always thought the Oz Chronicles where very moviable and wondered if you had written them with the thought in mind. Good luck, if I had the money I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity to put this on the screen.

      • A movie wasn’t my initial goal for the book, but I had written 12 screenplays before I wrote the Takers so I was self-taught in a cinematic style.

        It wasn’t my initial goal because having written 12 screenplays with zero deals set my expectations on how incredibly difficult it is to get a movie made. It’s a bit easier today because of the emerging distribution opportunities.

        Who knows? Maybe I can make the Oz Chronicles a serialized online movie. Put out little 6-10 minute movies over the next 20 years. :)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 492 other followers