The Gore so far and update on The Tree Readers


Thanks for the great comments!

Thanks for the great comments!

I just wanted to post a quick update on The Gore.  Sales are going well for an indie guy like me.  I don’t have actual numbers to make an adequate comparison, but I think it’s doing better out of the gate than any of the other books that followed The Takers.  That tells me that Oz has picked up some loyal readers over the years, and I’m extremely appreciative of their support.  I would also like to thank those who have sent me feedback via email, Facebook, this blog, and Amazon.  Your comments have been encouraging and well-received.  Thank you!

On to the next R.W. Ridley book.  My plans are to finish The Tree Readers.  I’m not posting chapters on Wattpad as often as I had been the last six weeks or so for one simple reason.  I caught up to the point where I had stopped working on the story before I got sidetracked by a couple of other projects (including books 5 & 6 of the Oz Chronicles).  I had 78,000 words in my pocket when I started uploading to Wattpad, and I added a few more chapters as time permitted and the inspiration hit.  Now that The Gore is out of the nest, I’ve been putting more time into adding new chapters to The Tree Readers, and the word count now stands at a little over 100,000 words, and I’m probably about two-thirds of the way done.  This figures to be the longest book I’ve ever written, and I’m purposely structuring it with short chapters that average around 1,000 words (In fact, as it stands now, I have exactly 100 chapters). And it is hardcore science fiction with some fantasy elements thrown in for good measure. I think Alan Dean Foster’s influence may be shining through on this one.  I am not a “message” writer, not purposely at any rate.  What I have found is that “messages” usually find their way into stories organically, and that is definitely happening with The Tree Readers.  It’s hard not to examine the state of humanity when an alien race has made it their mission to exterminate humans.  Are we worth saving?  What purpose do we serve in the universe?  As the writer, I can’t help but address those questions.  It’s possible I won’t like the answer.

That’s it.  Again thank you all for your continued support of Oz and the gang.

BTW – I’ll have an update on The Takers audio book soon.  Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 500 other followers