It’s Official – Lane Kiffin is a Tennessee Volunteer!


Mr. & Mrs. Tennessee

Mr. & Mrs. Tennessee

As practical and yes, a tad skeptical as I am, I can’t help being a little bit excited about the new coach of my Tennessee Vols.  I’m still not ready to break out the orange carpet, but I am hopeful.  He’s young (damned if he’s not 10 years younger than me), and that has the potential to cut both ways.  If he turns out to be the next great football mind, he could be around in God-awful orange for a very long time.  If he’s a bust, he’ll be out in 3-4 years. 

In addition to Lane Kiffin, Vol nation has gone goofy over his wife, Layla Kiffin (pictured above).  What I can only assume is an industrious, hormonal group of young male Volunteer fans has created a Facebook page in honor of the new coach’s wife: Our Coach’s Wife Is Hotter Than Your Coach’s Wife

I should say that I appreciate the tremendous, historical coaching job that Phillip Fulmer did at Tennessee.  I hung in there with him until the bitter end, but even I could see he had lost his spark this season.  He’s done all you can do in coaching.  If I were in his shoes, I’d take it easy for a while.

2 thoughts on “It’s Official – Lane Kiffin is a Tennessee Volunteer!

  1. I have a world of respect for what Fulmer did for the program.
    Having said that, I agree whole-heartedly that it’s exciting to be a Vol fan right now.
    Having been fired by Al Davis is certainly a feather in Kiffin’s hat! He seems to have class and hopefully will bring the Vols back to SEC prominence.

  2. I hope nothing but the best for Fulmer. I wouldn’t be surprised if he gets a front office job with the Colts, and rejoin his favorite former player.

Leave a comment